"Requires a 64bit version of Windows"

Ask and help answer questions about the WolfQuest game and forum. Check the Knowledge Base first! http://support.wolfquest.org

Moderators: Neamara, paperpaws

Post Reply
User avatar
Snowflakesnow123
Newborn Wolf
Newborn Wolf
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:15 pm
Gender: Female
Location: Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

"Requires a 64bit version of Windows"

Post by Snowflakesnow123 » Sat Jul 27, 2019 3:18 pm

So I download Wolfquest: Anniversary Edition on Steam, I double-click, and I see this: "The game you are installing requires a 64bit version of Windows. If you don't have such a PC available click below to learn about requesting a refund."

...WHAT? So I can't get it because of my computer, or my version of windows? I don't know because I've never been unable to install a game because of my bit/pixel count (which is 32).

Sorry, but this is frustrating. I was SO excited to finally see the new Anniversary Edition, and now I can't. I feel so left out, and I don't know what to do.

User avatar
Koa
WolfQuest Moderator
WolfQuest Moderator
Posts: 12940
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 3:53 pm
Gender: Female
Contact:

Re: "Requires a 64bit version of Windows"

Post by Koa » Sat Jul 27, 2019 11:21 pm

Hi there,

What operating system version of Windows are you running?

You can change from 32 bit to 64, but you'll need to follow the steps below-- and that's only if your computer is capable of making that change.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... 64-bit-faq
YOU SAY YOU WANT TO GET BETTER AND YOU DON'T KNOW HOW.

User avatar
Snowflakesnow123
Newborn Wolf
Newborn Wolf
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:15 pm
Gender: Female
Location: Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

Re: "Requires a 64bit version of Windows"

Post by Snowflakesnow123 » Sat Jul 27, 2019 11:48 pm

Hi,
I use Windows 7, with a 32-bit operating system.
Thank you for the link, I appreciate it! I think I actually have enough RAM, so I'll see what I can do.

User avatar
Koa
WolfQuest Moderator
WolfQuest Moderator
Posts: 12940
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 3:53 pm
Gender: Female
Contact:

Re: "Requires a 64bit version of Windows"

Post by Koa » Sun Jul 28, 2019 9:57 pm

Snowflakesnow123 wrote:
Sat Jul 27, 2019 11:48 pm
Hi,
I use Windows 7, with a 32-bit operating system.
Thank you for the link, I appreciate it! I think I actually have enough RAM, so I'll see what I can do.
Great. You might want to check and make sure your graphics card can run WolfQuest, too, before you make any changes. That way you don't run into more trouble after putting in all this effort to change to 64 bit.
YOU SAY YOU WANT TO GET BETTER AND YOU DON'T KNOW HOW.

User avatar
Snowflakesnow123
Newborn Wolf
Newborn Wolf
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:15 pm
Gender: Female
Location: Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

Re: "Requires a 64bit version of Windows"

Post by Snowflakesnow123 » Mon Jul 29, 2019 2:41 pm

Oh, will do, thank you!

Post Reply

Return to “Tips, Hints, and Help”