Tracking a wolf

Discuss wolves (news, sightings, etc.).

Moderators: Isela, Koa

Silver1000
Newborn Wolf
Newborn Wolf

Tracking a wolf

Post by Silver1000 » Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:47 am

Sorry if i have got this in the wrong section, im still learning about which topics go where

Okay, im learning to track a wolf. I am listing tracking wolves here and so you can learn yourself how to track a wolf. First of all, please no complaints. This is what i am learning and if something in incorrect. Please correct me. Do keep on topic aswell, please dont type anything off topic.

1. A wolve's front paws are different from it's back paws. So it leaves different paw prints on where it walks. But be carefull, this may be the case with cats and dogs aswell. A wolve's paw prints are larger, and deeper into the ground because of their strength.

2. Signs of scat
Find some scat then? Have a look of what it contains, and match the traces of food to a wolves diet. A wolve's diet would normally be animals such as elk, deer, hare and sometimes bugs.

3. Wolf territory marking
If your out in the forest looking for a wolf or wolves, check for territory markings, they normally consider around good places for finding a partner or raising their pups. Raising their pups means they need to find a safe place such as cave or a small underground den.

4. Signs of feeding
No finding anough evidence, look our for feeding such as dead animals (must be in wolves diet). If you find a dead animal which is wolf kill and is not in a wolve's diet, the wolf may be protecting her/his pups, wolves do anything to protect their pups.

5. Wolf prey
look for wolf prey, such as deer related animals (Elk, goat, anything a wolf could kill)

6. pup feeding.
Check for pup feeding, which includes little chunks of chewed up meat which have been given to the pups by their parents. The pups dont always eat all of the food.

7. Wolf howls