Are Wolves Really Orange?

Post wolf-related questions and we'll try our best to find the answers.

Moderators: Isela, Koa

Angei
Hunter-in-training
Hunter-in-training

Are Wolves Really Orange?

Post by Angei » Fri May 28, 2010 6:03 pm

On WQ people can make orange wolves. Is this realistic?
    • -=≡Jewel≡=-
    ==========
    ==========
    av(c)thandi
I am only 8 so i am not that good at spelling

- IceRain -

Re: Are Wolves Really Orange?

Post by - IceRain - » Fri May 28, 2010 6:17 pm

No wolves cannot be orange, the may have a tan or cream tint to thier fur. But they can never be orange.

-Myth

Canidae
Former WQ Moderator

Post by Canidae » Fri May 28, 2010 7:59 pm

Gray wolves can have very orange-ish tints to their fur, though:

http://img163.imageshack.us/img163/8788/674z.jpg
http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/6986/598h.jpg
http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/9513/514ls.jpg

Of course, Red wolves are much more likely to have red/orange/tan/brown tints to their coat.
Like animal photography? Check out my Deviantart account:
http://familycanidae.deviantart.com/

Blightwolf
New Pack Member
New Pack Member

Post by Blightwolf » Sat May 29, 2010 3:39 am

Cani's right. Gray wolves can appear orange-ish but it's mainly because of the tan, creamy and ocher colored hues and tints on their fur... but as for being thoroughly orange in the actual sense of the color... it's not possible. Not to mention, very unrealistic.

In WolfQuest people are capable of making orange or sand colored wolves because of the ability in the character creation to adjust and modify the color tints on the wolf.

I wonder if the adjust button should be removed altogether (at least when adjusting the colors on a brown/tan wolf) just to prevent confusion like this? A lot of people have asked this question in the past.
AUGUST 2009 USER OF THE MONTH

- IceRain -

Post by - IceRain - » Sat May 29, 2010 6:28 am